Trident and the Democratic Deficit

Trident and the Democratic Deficit

Last nights debate and vote on the future of Trident was a disaster for democracy, particularly in Yorkshire, where not a single MP from major cities such as Leeds or Sheffield bothered to vote either way. Repeated polls have shown that the majority of the UK electorate are opposed to the renewal of Trident especially in the current economic conditions, but how is that majority represented by UK political parties? Trident replacement will represent the largest single public spending decision of the next Parliament, what does it mean for democracy that half of our local MPs didn’t even turn up to hear the debate?

It is interesting to note that as it currently stands, at the upcoming election leaders debate will only host supporters of Trident renewal. We need to ensure that parliamentary candidates from all parties know the strength of our opposition to more public spending on weapons on mass destruction. So please do write to your candidates.

Voters who supported the Liberal Democrats at the last election due to their campaigning on Trident will no doubt have been dismayed to see that when the issue was finally discussed in Parliament, only 10% of the party’s MPs nationally turned out to vote last night. Not a single LibDem MP from Yorkshire voted.

Below is a breakdown of how Yorkshire MPs voted on the motion to Scrap Trident.

Barnsley CentralDan Jarvis (No show)
Barnsley EastMichael Dugher (No)
Batley & SpenMike Wood (No show)
Beverley & HoldernessGraham Stuart (no)
Bradford EastDavid Ward (No Show)
Bradford SouthGerry Sutcliffe (no)
Bradford WestGeorge Galloway (aye)
Brigg & GooleAndrew Percy (no)
Calder ValleyCraig Whittaker (no)
CleethorpesMartin Vickers (no)
Colne ValleyJason McCartney (no)
DewsburySimon Reevell (no)
Don ValleyCaroline Flint (no)
Doncaster CentralRosie Winterton (no)
Doncaster NorthEd Miliband (No Show)
Elmet & RothwellAlec Shelbrooke (No Show)
Great GrimsbyAustin Mitchell (No Show)
HalifaxLinda Riordan (No Show)
Haltemprice & HowdenDavid Davis (No Show)
Harrogate & KnaresboroughAndrew Jones (no)
HemsworthJon Trickett (No Show)
HuddersfieldBarry Sheerman (no)
Hull EastKarl Turner (no)
Hull NorthDiana Johnson (no)
Hull West & HessleAlan Johnson (No Show)
KeighleyKris Hopkins (no)
Leeds CentralHilary Benn (No Show)
Leeds EastGeorge Mudie (No Show)
Leeds North EastFabian Hamilton (No Show)
Leeds North WestGreg Mulholland (No Show)
Leeds WestRachel Reeves (No Show)
Morley & OutwoodEd Balls (No Show)
Normanton, Pontefract & CastlefordYvette Cooper (no)
Penistone & StocksbridgeAngela Smith (no)
PudseyStuart Andrew (no)
Richmond (YORKS)William Hague (no)
Rother ValleyKevin Barron (no)
RotherhamSarah Champion (No show)
Scarborough & WhitbyRobert Goodwill (no)
ScunthorpeNicholas Dakin (no)
Selby & AinstyNigel Adams (No Show)
Sheffield Brightside & HillsboroughClive Betts (No Show)
Sheffield CentralPaul Blomfield (No Show)
Sheffield HallamNicholas Clegg (No Show)
Sheffield HeeleyMeg Munn (No Show)
Sheffield South EastClive Betts (No Show)
ShipleyPhilip Davies (no)
Skipton & RiponJulian Smith (no)
Thirsk & MaltonAnne McIntosh (no)
WakefieldMary Creagh (no)
Wentworth & DearneJohn Healey (no)
York CentralHugh Bayley (no)
York OuterJulian Sturdy (no)
YORKSHIRE EASTGreg Knight (no)

For more see the BBC coverage of the vote.